News Flash

Mayor's Office

Posted on: June 6, 2019

Appointments Made to City Sustainability Task Force

At the June 6th Common Council meeting, the Council appointed 7 individuals to serve on the newly created City Sustainability Task Force (CSTF). Councilor Armstrong was appointed to serve as the first coordinator of the CSTF. The Task Force will be focused on examining City operations and setting goals of reducing resource & energy consumption. This is part of the City’s efforts towards becoming a New York State Climate Smart Community (CSC).

The following appointments were made: Councilor Rachelle Armstrong (Coordinator), Joel Chase (MLD), James Welch (Building Inspector's Office), Ethan Vinson (Community Development), Scott Buffett (College and Industry), Lisa Bergmann (Climate Smart Coalition), Wouter Rietsema (Non-Profit)

The CSTF, comprised of both members of City Departments and the community, will work in conjunction with the newly formed Climate Smart Community Coalition of local environmental groups towards taking actions to reduce the City’s carbon footprint and to conserve energy, as well as broader community initiatives. These future actions would then be awarded points which allow the City to become a NYS CSC certified community.  Further designations can be achieved including bronze, silver, and gold levels by continuing to earn points past the certification threshold. 

In April 2019, Mayor Read released his 58+ Point Plan for Energy and Economic Resiliency and the Common Council passed a resolution to sign the NYS Climate Smart Community Pledge. The CSTF’s work will build upon these two initiatives. The 58+ Point Plan is focused on reducing power cost, providing incentives for residents to reduce their energy usage, and ensuring the City is at the leading edge of energy innovation.  Notably, a major goal that is attainable in the near future is to become a 100% renewable energy City, a feat achieved only by a small number of cities across the country. Information can be found on the City website at the following link:

Facebook Twitter Email